I’m Happy for You {Sort Of… Not Really} – A Book Review

Im happy for you cover

I have read the most amazing, life changing book recently and I can hardly wait to share this with you! The book is called I’m Happy for You {Sort Of… Not really} , it deals with finding contentment in a time of comparison. I have a question for my readers, how many of you find yourself comparing yourself or even your kids to family, friends, or even strangers on the street? I am willing to bet that it is quite a few of you and in most cases you do not even realize you are doing it! Seriously. I have found myself on Face book doing the same thing and when I get done, I usually feel so much worse than when I started! That is what this book talks about. How we do it and how we can actually stop doing it. The author is Kay Wills Wyma and she is a mom and wife with a really easy way of stopping the comparison disease. Yes, I called it a disease because it really has become an issue around the world. I am sure if you ask your friends and family about comparison you will find that many of them feel like it is a problem, especially among teens and young people. It can be very dangerous and it can also be used for good as well. You can find Kay on Facebook here and on Twitter here. The best part about her is that she is a blogger, not some psychological person who will talk down to you.  She has had an amazing life with all kinds of cool jobs before becoming a mom of 5 kids.

I was so intrigued by this book that I read most of it in one day and I love it! In fact, I have a few people who I think should read this book ASAP! I wish I had some to pass out to those people so they can see what I have learned and how easy it is to get on the path of not comparing yourself to anyone! It is a hard habit to break, don’t let me fool you, but I have been doing some of the things she suggests like when people have good news to share with you about their lives and you get stuck in the brain freeze of comparison, to just say “I am happy for you”. At first, you might not mean it, but the more you say it, the more you will realize that you do mean it!

So, here is what I want you guys to do, go get this book in what ever format you want and read it! Then re read it! take something away from it each time and put it into practice. I bet your life will get better and you will be able to deal with all the comparisons out there in a way that makes you happy.

 

I received this book from Blogging for Book for the sole purpose of this review.

Ya'll Said What?!?